November Theme: Crossover Adult/YA

We are so excited to welcome new participants to our #YearofYA Twitter book club, and appreciate our “regulars” who are up for any challenge we throw at them 🙂 If you’re new to this group, we are a low-commitment book club of adult YA-readers/educators that posts a theme at the beginning of every month, and YOU get to pick the title(s) that interest you within that theme. Feel free to choose on your own, or we always provide several resources to help. If the monthly theme doesn’t sound like your cup of tea, join us the following month. Don’t have time to read but still want to chat? You’re welcome to pop in to our monthly Twitter chat & pick up titles that other participants read! Our questions and prompts are there to stimulate conversation – there are no “right” answers. Don’t forget to use #YearofYA to connect to all our participants on Twitter/Instagram.  If you have a suggestion for a theme, want to post a guest blog, or share other ideas, please let us know! We are happy to be moderators, but love to hear other voices (and I’m sure other people would like to hear you too!). We give you a full month to read as much as you’d like, and we do our Twitter chats at the end of the month/beginning of following.

November Crossover (1)

The November theme is: Crossover Adult/YA.  This works 2 ways: pick a book for adults that teens would enjoy reading, or books for teens that adults may be interested in trying out. Below is a fantastic guide by The Book Addict that shows the duality of the theme. It’s a great visual w/ titles you may recognize and will quickly see how the “crossover” works:

Our chat for November Crossover reads will be Monday, November 30 at 8pm! Be sure to follow @Tavia_Clark & @molleebranden before 11/30 & always use #YearofYA to connect w/ other crossover readers over the next month.

More resources to find titles @:

Epic Reads – Tea Time: Crossover

Book Browse Crossovers

Goodreads Shelf: Crossovers

Book Addicts Guide

Advertisements

Mollee’s Creepy October Reads

Tavia pushed me to the limit w/ this theme – which is the whole point of #YearofYA! I’m not a thriller girl, but I have read a few (and could easily get my hands on some) so here’s what’s on tap for the next 3 weeks…

First up is White Cat by Holly Black. I really liked The Coldest Girl in Coldtown last year, so when I spotted this title in audiobook at the library, I snatched it up. It sounds like a great mix of themes we’ve talked about this year in #YearofYA and #SummerofYA – it’s a male protagonist, he feels like an outsider, there’s magic and guilt and mystery! I’m excited to listen to this on my way to Raleigh and back this week ~ you’ll probably see an Insta review by Friday afternoon 🙂

A new title I’ve been excited to get to is A Curious Tale of the In-Between by Lauren DeStefano. It’s a middle grade debut, but being touted as “perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Sheila Turnage” ~ both authors I’ve read and really enjoy. It’s definitely ghosty, which a lot of my students crave (especially this time of year). While it isn’t true “YA”, I’m thinking it will be a good option for my students looking to read “up” and for HS students needing high interest, lower rigor.
I really hope I have time to get to this last one! It seems more psychological thriller than “creepy” read, but suspenseful and unique. Tangled Webs by Lee Bross takes place in 1725 London and 17 year old Arista leads a double life; she’s a blackmailer that collects secrets while also trying to stay out of the way of her abusive master. She gets caught up in the criminal underground, as well as the dangerous hope of falling in love. This sounds like a tale that weaves a lot of interesting themes! Just hope I carve out time to read it!

October #YearofYA Theme: Spooky Reads

Welcome to #YearofYA for October 2015!

If you are new to our book club, this is a low-commitment deal where we present a theme each month on our blog, then use social media to connect to other YA readers by posting Instagram book reviews and conducting a Twitter chat using #YearofYA. This is a group of librarians (school and public), educators at all grade levels, parents of teens, and even teens themselves. Join us once, if the theme appeals to you, or monthly, if you enjoy chatting about YA lit. Can’t make the date of a Twitter chat? Post to our blog, write reviews on social media and tag with #YearofYA, or read the transcript on the blog, to stay connected. If you have a suggestion for a theme, want to post a guest blog, or share other ideas, please let us know! We are happy to be moderators, but love to hear other voices (and I’m sure other people would like to hear you too!). We give you a full month to read, and we do our Twitter chats during the first week of the next month.

To stay in the spirit (pun intended!) of the season, our October theme will focus on Halloween reads; books that celebrate the horror, spookiness and mystery of the holiday! The horror genre is one that is widely popular with teens and young adults, and one that has some awesome titles to offer! Below you will find links to some resources to help you find and choose books that will not only scare you, but leave you wanting to read more!

Horror Writer’s Association Bram Stoker Award
The Bram Stoker Award is a recognition presented by the Horror Writers Association (HWA) for “superior achievement” in dark fantasy and horror writing. There is a specific section for YA Lit.

Edgar Award YA Lit Winners

Each year, the Mystery Writers of America presents the Edgar Award for outstanding mystery writing. They have a specific category for YA Lit.

School Library Journal – Haunted Reads (all the scary book lists in one place)

13 Young Adult Novels to Spook You This Halloween from Buzzfeed

Set the Mood for Halloween With These Scary YA Reads!

22 of the Best YA Horror Books to Read for Halloween

Happy Reading!!!

Image Source: http://hdwallpapersab.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Las-Vegas-Halloween-2015-2560×1600.jpg